Wednesday, August 15, 2007

PyCon-Tech '08 Call for Volunteers

PyCon-Tech (the python behind pycon), is an open source project for providing software for the python conferences. As the process of organizing the conferences moves forward, we need to get different parts of the web site up and running for organizers, attendees, and the community at large. And we need help.

To kick things off, there will be a PyCon-Tech meeting for PyCon USA 2008 on Tuesday, August 21, at 2PM Eastern/1PM Central/11AM Pacific (6PM UTC). This will be held via Google Talk/Jabber (group chat).

The goals are simple:
  • Software for PyCon
  • Give back to the community
  • Show what python can do
The project is based on django, but is not limited to web applications. We are looking for help at every level. Even if all you do is edit some of the wiki pages, this would be greatly appreciated.

We are also looking for any and all feedback on last years system. This feedback should be limited to the web site software including the schedule, schedule handouts, talk proposal system, or something we have not yet thought of. Feedback can be given in the comments below, or on the PyCon-Tech mailing list.

UPDATE: For those who wish to contribute, there is no signup list. You just join the PyCon-Tech mailing list, and you are part of the team! (attending the meetings also helps, but is not required.)

No comments: